En Route To Chios

Currently sitting in the airport again, this time waiting for a quick flight to the island of Chios. Mike, Suma, Olivia and I will be on the island for almost 24 hours to shoot a story on Leslie Schick, a Boston local who does humanitarian work in the refugee camps here. 

I’m excited, but nervous. This is my first time being in the camps proper and this is the sort of situation you can’t blow. It’s people’s lives, you know? Not fun and games. 

It’s times like this that I’m so grateful for my past experiences with MSNBC and News12. MSNBC gave me the experience of high intensity, fast-paced work; it taught me that I love breaking news. But News12 gave me a more relaxed environment to build these skills, to get those rejections, to fail safely.

I’m fairly confident there will be no failure on this trip. This is a good team of experienced and competent journalists. But I want, I need, to get this right. 

Leave a Reply

